The North East MudBoss Series wrapped up its season Sunday, racing at the temporary indoor track nicknamed “The Ice Palace” on Mill Street in Waterloo.

The inaugural series hosted a non-point fun run in conjunction with year-end awards. Dave Callaghan, of Penn Yan, took home the lion’s share of more than $2,500 in postseason awards, winning the NEMB overall championship ($500), in addition to the Out of Town ($100), Empire State ($100) and Radio Hill Raceway ($100) support series.

Callaghan won eight times in the 27-race series, which stretched as far south as Midlothian, Va., and as far west as Bay City, Mich. The season was mapped out for more than 30 stops between May and December, with four dates falling to weather-related problems and one lost to staffing challenges.

Callaghan won the points chase after all the drops were factored in, topping Waterloo’s Jamie Davis 1,574 points to 1,494. Steven Ovens, also of Penn Yan, ranked third, scoring 1,475 points. Justin Eldredge ranked fourth with 1,461 points. Mike Cooley, while having a rocky finish to the year, held on to take fifth with 1,443 points, just 3 markers ahead of Sam Gascon. Stu Ovens (1,434), Tom Bell (1,422), Anthony Guererri (1,160) and Anthony Scott (1,070) rounded out the top 10.

Callaghan held a 74-point edge over teammate Steven Ovens in the Empire State Series, made up of races contested in New York. Stu Ovens, Mike Cooley and Jamie Davis followed.

Callaghan won the Radio Hill Series by 35 points over Justin Eldredge. Steven Ovens, Stu Ovens and Mike Cooley were next. In all, less than 100 points separated first and 10th.

Callaghan’s run was capped with the Out of Town races. He made only a handful of them, but those totaled a value of 501 points, 22 better than series-long leader Davis. Bell ranked third and Sam Gascon fourth.

The Small Addiction Series saw the biggest jumble at the end of the year when drops were tabulated. Jake Kirkendall moved from ninth to first on the heels of five counted races; less than 90 points separated first and 11th in that support series. Kirkendall amassed 478 points with two wins, and was chased by Shawn Kreis, Callaghan, Stu Ovens and Steven Ovens.

In full, there were a total of 45 positions paid back from the tour point fund, along with two year-end bonuses:

• Callaghan took the award for the most wins.

• Davis won a bonus for most races attended: 26 of 27.

• Bruce Ridley, Anthony Scott, Callaghan, Shawn Kreis, Ryan Davenport, Dave Mills and Tom Bell won the season’s races in excess of 200 laps. Kreis’ win was an emotional Paul Walborn Memorial 300-lapper at Radio Hill in September, while Scott won the event on the concrete Sunday.

The series follows closely the rules lined out by Eric Salvas, a second-generation racing star who is a fan of remote-control racing and works for CustomWorks RC. He created the division as an affordable, entry-level spec class that could help resuscitate the ailing hobby. The division began racing at Radio Hill, and is now featured at Small Addictions RC in Auburn, outdoors on the loose dirt at Crystal Valley in Dundee, and RC Comp Speedway in Solvay.

The series will be racing next season at three preseason motorsports exhibitions: Feb. 17-18 at Motorama in Harrisburg, Pa., March 3 at Fingerlakes Mall’s Finger Lakes Speedworld in Aurelius; and March 10-11 at the New York State Fairgrounds’ Motorsport Expo in suburban Syracuse.

For more information, visit the group’s active Facebook page under North East Mudboss Series.

2018 schedules

Fulton Speedway: The 33rd running of the Outlaw 200 is slated for Sept. 29. The DIRTcar Sportsman Series will be part of Outlaw weekend, also.

The track will open its campaign with the Super DIRTcar Series’ Highbank Holdup 100 April 28.

The sprint cars will be a regular sight at Fulton, also. The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series visit Oct. 6. Highbank Holdup Weekend will include the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints April 27. ESS Speedweek will visit Fulton July 7 and Sept. 1. The Patriot Sprint Tour will make a visit to Fulton June 2.

Brewerton Speedway: The Super DIRTcar Series will visit June 15 and Sept. 14, the latter event called the Duel at the Demon.

NFL announces 2018 Pro Bowl rosters